Empire Upset: Danny Varin Scores $10,000 410 Sprint Car Triumph at Utica-Rome

Written by Chris Moore

VERNON, NY – Empire Upset.

New York resident Danny Varin upset the stout field of Tezos All-Star Circuit of Champions 410 Sprint Car drivers for his first career win in the national touring series.

The All-Stars invaded Utica-Rome Speedway for the second consecutive year, this time with Varin upending the best of the best on Scenic View Campground/Christian Fabrication and Broedel Energy night at the speedway.

Varin started on the pole and led all 30-laps of the non-stop A-Main for the biggest win of his career.

“I’m just at a loss for words right now…I’m on cloud nine,” Danny Varin, who resides in Sharon Springs, New York, explained. “We’ve made some recent changes to this car and it’s really paid off. This is huge for this team. Just a dream come true for everyone involved.”

“Hats off to all of the fans who packed this place, and to the track crew and staff. I’m not sure there’s a better track in New York right now,” Varin continued.

Despite leading every lap of the 30-lap affair, the race was not without anxiety for Varin and team. Coming to the completion of lap six, Varin slipped over the turn four embankment, losing momentum and the lead for a brief moment going into turn one.

Varin remained calm, rolling the bottom and driving back by his closest competitor, Kerry Madsen, and taking the lead for good.

The victory landed Varin with a $10,000 payday in front of an elated grandstand that was packed to the brim at the ‘Home of Heroes.’

Indianapolis, Indiana’s Tyler Courtney charged to the runner-up spot, finishing second again at Utica-Rome Speedway and Angola, Indiana’s Zeb Wise rounded out the podium cars.

Sprakers, N.Y.’s Stewart Friesen – wheeling the Jordan Thomas owned No. 79 – came home fourth in his first 410 Sprint Car start in several years and Knoxville, Iowa’s Kerry Madsen rounded out the top five.

Friesen wasn’t content with his fourth place showing with the All-Stars however, as Friesen parked his Halmar International No. 44 racecar in Victory Lane with the 3 Bastards Brewing Modifieds in the F.X. Caprara Car Companies Thunder on the Thruway Series finale.

Friesen started from 13th and weaved his way to the runner-up spot and set his sights on York, N.Y.’s Justin Wright out front.

Wright paced the field until a yellow flag flew with four laps to go. Friesen threw a slide job at Wright for the lead. The slide job was executed to perfection as Wright was unable to counter the move and Friesen held the lead for good.

“It’s been a couple months since we’ve had one of these wins at Utica-Rome,” Friesen smiled. “It feels good to be here and I had a lot of fun in the 410 earlier too.”

The win was the second of the season for Friesen at Utica-Rome Speedway, this one worth $4,000.

Wright settled for second and Watertown, N.Y.’s Tim Fuller rounded out the podium finishers. Unadilla, N.Y.’s Billy Decker and Covington Township, Pa.’s Alex Yankowski were the rest of the top five.

The fifth-place run for Yankowski was good enough to secure his second consecutive F.X. Caprara Car Companies Thunder on the Thruway Series championship.

“I never thought I’d ever be good enough to compete with these guys,” the 19-year-old proclaimed. “To win a championship of any kind means a lot to me and my team.”

Durhamville, N.Y.’s Matt Janczuk led all 25-laps of the Worthington Industries Crate 602 Sportsman for a dominant victory, his sixth consecutive at Utica-Rome Speedway.

South New Berlin, N.Y.’s Payton Talbot finished second to capture the Thunder on the Thruway series title. Willy Decker Jr., Connor Prokop, and Blaine Klinger were the top five.

Tyler Bobar won the eight lap B Feature.

Gloversville, N.Y.’s Luke Horning won the Next Generation Graphix Pro Stocks feature for his second consecutive Utica-Rome Speedway win.

Horning led all 20-laps take home the win. Kenny Gates, Nick Stone, Ivan Joslin, and A.J. Walters rounded out the top five.

Stone’s third place finish netted him the Pro Stock Thunder on the Thruway series championship.

Racing continues on Friday, August 25, as weekly points racing begins to wind down at the ‘Home of Heroes.’ The event is headlined by the 3 Bastards Brewing Modifieds, along with the Worthington Industries Crate 602 Sportsman, Next Generation Graphix Pro Stocks, Fastline Performance Limited Sportsman, and Fonda Fair Four Cylinders on the half-mile oval.

The Senior Services Inc. All-Star Slingshots and Junior Slingshots round out the program on the inner-oval.

Utica-Rome Speedway is located at 5591 NY-5 (Seneca Turnpike) Vernon, NY 13476. The official website is www.uticaromespeedway.com and can be reached by phone at 315.953.4097.  Like Utica-Rome Speedway on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @UR_Speedway.


Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Feature Finish (30 laps): DANNY VARIN, Tyler Courtney, Zeb Wise, Stewart Friesen, Kerry Madsen, Sye Lynch, Chris Windom, Greg Wilson, Brandon Spithaler, Dale Blaney, Conner Morrell, Zeth Sabo, Matt Farnham, Joe Trenca, Chad Miller, Denny Peebles, Bobby Hackel IV, Nathen McDowell, Jonathan Preston, Paulie Colagiovanni, Jacob Dykstra, Dave Axton, John Trenca.

Did Not Start: Jordan Poirier

3 Bastards Brewing Modified Feature Finish (30 laps): STEWART FRIESEN, Justin Wright, Tim Fuller, Billy Decker, Alex Yankowski, Ronnie Johnson, Willy Decker, JaMike Sowle, Alan Johnson, Jessica Friesen, Dave Constantino, Addison Bowman, Pat Ward, Chris Curtis, Brian Calabrese, Randy Shantel, Nick Nye, Cody Clark, Ron Holmes, Zachary Payne, Brad Godshalk, Jim Walsh, Rocky Warner, Michael Trautschold, Danny Varin, Bobby Hackel IV, Shawn McPhee.

Did Not Start: Matt Sheppard

Worthington Industries Crate 602 Sportsman Feature Finish (25 laps): MATT JANCZUK, Payton Talbot, Willy Decker Jr., Connor Prokop, Blaine Klinger, Matthew Richardson, Josh Amodio, Blake Sarpriacone, Tanner Warner, Daryl Nutting, Clayton DuMond, Ed Lukas, E.J. Gallup, Allan Hodge, Seth Martin, Chip Constantino, Addison Bowman, Mike Richmond, Brett Mortensen, Ryan Shanahan, Alex Hughes, Carson Rothwell, Jeremy Slosek, David Dickey, David Hackett, Harry Shaffer, Jim Rothwell, Pat Jones, Dalton Doyle.

Worthington Industries Crate 602 Sportsman B-Main Finish (15 laps): TYLER BOBAR, Zack Welch, Michelle Courcy, John DuMond, J.J. Courcy, Chris Kugler, Matt Perry, Timmy Wilmot, John Williams, Andrew McFadden.

Did Not Start: Brendan Gibbons, Shawn Frost, Rich Talada, Bobby Rhinehardt, Richard Murtaugh, Wesley Sutliff, Jim Nagle, Michael McCallion, Maddy Broedel, Kyle Demetro, Ed Downing.

Next Generation Graphix Pro Stock Feature Finish (20 laps): LUKE HORNING, Kenny Gates, Nick Stone, Ivan Joslin, A.J. Walters, Beau Ballard, Josh Coonradt, Bret Belden, Jason Morrison, Andy Graves, Dennis Joslin, Johnny Holmes, George Cushman, Hunter Keith, Ed Kotary, Michael Achzet, Matt Rose, Nick Santuccione, Randy Cosselman, Jim Normoyle, Dalton Szewczyk.

Algonkin Motel Hard Luck Award: Matt Sheppard