All Star Race Week: 410 Sprint Cars, Thunder on the Thruway Series at Utica-Rome Saturday

Written by Chris Moore

VERNON, NY – It’s an “All Star” race week!

Utica-Rome Speedway returns to racing in a big way on Saturday, August 20 as the Tezos All-Star Circuit of Champions (ASCoC) presented By Mobil 1 invades the Route 5 oval for the first time in more than three years.

The event is presented by Broedel Fuel Group and International Wire.

The visit by the ASCoC marks the fourth time in history that 410 Sprint Cars have competed at Utica-Rome Speedway, with each of the previous three also falling under ASCoC sanctioning.

Aaron Reutzel (2019), Tim Shaffer (2012), and Fred Rahmer (2010) were previous 410 Sprint Car winners at the Home of Heroes under ASCoC sanctioning.

Indianapolis, Ind.’s Tyler Courtney leads the ASCoC contingent into their visit to the half-mile oval. The man known as ‘Sunshine’ holds a 106-point advantage in the ASCoC standings entering New York State.

Expected drivers include the ‘Buckeye Bullet,’ Dave BlaneyJustin Peck, of Monrovia, Ind., and Sikeston, Mo.’s Hunter Schuerenberg.

The best of the ASCoC will be joined by Fonda, N.Y.’s Danny Varin, Cicero, N.Y.’s Paulie Colagiovanni and Gettysburg, Pa.’s Danny Dietrich.

The F.X. Caprara Car Companies ‘Thunder on the Thruway’ (TOTT) Series will conclude on Saturday as well for the Sunoco Modifieds, Worthington Industries Crate 602 Sportsman, and the Next Generation GraphiX Pro Stocks.

Covington Township, Pa.’s Alex Yankowski leads the Sunoco Modified TOTT standings heading into the six-race miniseries finale.

Yankowski – a feature winner this season at Utica-Rome – holds a 15-point lead over Duanesburg, N.Y.’s Ronnie Johnson.

Johnstown, N.Y.’s Rocky Warner rounds out the top three, still in contention for the championship, sitting 32 markers behind Yankowski atop the Modified standings.

The recently crowned Fonda (N.Y.) Speedway Crate 602 Sportsman champion – Payton Talbot – leads the TOTT standings for the Worthington Industries Crate 602 Sportsman heading into Saturday’s finale.

Talbot leads Gloversville, N.Y.’s Chad Edwards by just eight points heading into the finale. Salisbury Center, N.Y.’s Cody Clark rounds out the drivers still in championship contention, just 18 points behind Talbot.

Schenectady, N.Y.’s Nick Stone is in pursuit of his second consecutive TOTT Pro Stock championship, leading Grand Gorge, N.Y.’s Beau Ballard by 24 points.

Stone has won each of the two TOTT races at Utica-Rome Speedway this season.

For first time Utica-Rome Speedway visitors, visit the Frequently Asked Questions Page for more information:

For the August 20 program, all gates open at 4 p.m. Hot laps are slated to begin at 6:15 p.m. with racing to follow at 7 p.m.

Grandstand admission is $30 for Adults and $28 for Seniors (ages 65 and above). Kids 11 and under get in FREE.

Pit Admission is $35 for Utica-Rome Speedway members and $40 for non-members.

The entire night of racing will air live and on-demand on FloRacing (

Utica-Rome Speedway is located at 5591 NY-5 (Seneca Turnpike) Vernon, NY 13476. The official website is and can be reached by phone at 315.953.4097.  Like Utica-Rome Speedway on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @UR_Speedway.

All Star Enterprises LLC, wholly owned by Tony Stewart, d/b/a the All-Star Circuit of Champions, is a winged Sprint Car series. The All-Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series is one of the oldest traveling 410 Sprint Car organizations and is a staple of grassroots, open-wheel racing. Formed in 1970 by Bud Miller, the series has largely been considered the first ‘outlaw’ Sprint Car organization of the modern era. Motorsports entrepreneur Tony Stewart agreed to terms with Guy Webb to become the sole owner of the original winged Sprint Car tour in January of 2015.