Rt 5 Vernon, NY
Back to 2011 News    Back to 2012 News
Jump to Sept 9th

Series point leader Jimmy Owens grabbed the lead at the start of the 50 lap Lucas Oil Late Model feature and for the second night in a row it looked like he had the car to beat. Owens built a huge lead over Scott Bloomquist with ten laps complete when the second caution of the race came out for a slowing Jim Bernheisel.
On the restart Owens pulled away again opening up a significant advantage over what was a tremendous battle for second among Bloomquist, Dan Stone, and Coffey. Stone passed Bloomquist for second on lap 11 and held the spot until Coffey stormed by him on lap 15.
But on lap 27 a caution would slow the field and wipe away Owens’ margin. The restart got quite exciting as McCreadie went to the outside and passed Owens on lap 28 to take over the lead as the crowd came to its feet. McCreadie and Owens then diced it out side-by-side for three laps until McCreadie pulled ahead for good.
McCreadie kept enough distance between himself and Owens the rest of the way as he went on to secure his seventh career Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series triumph. Owens and Pearson battled to the finish with Owens edging out Pearson for the position.
“It always feels great to come here and win in front of these fans, they have been so supportive of me since I started racing. They cheered my dad for many years and to come from eighth place to win here tonight, is just unbelievable, we wanted to come here and run with guys like Jimmy Owens and the other drivers on the Lucas Oil Series,” said the 37-year-old McCreadie who collected his second LOLMDS victory of 2011.
“The car we ran tonight, we haven’t been real happy with. We had a problem with the Victory Circle and didn’t get a chance to fix it after last night. Bill Schlieper of Pro Power Engines was here, he told us some things we were doing wrong and he straightened us out on the engine part of it. Man I thought Vic Coffey was going to win the race, he’s been so deserving of it this year, he’s been like a brother to me and to see him win tonight would have been just as exciting,” said the winner afterwards during his victory lane celebration.
“I have to thank everyone at Sweeteners Plus, Ann and Carl Myers for all they have done for me, my co-crew chiefs Barry Knapp and Craig McCrimmon. We have meshed well and we are looking forward to the rest of the season,” said the driver who piloted a Rocket Chassis to the win with sponsorship from Bulldog Rear Ends, VP Racing Fuels, Hoosier Tires, Integra Shocks, and Coffey McCreadie Enterprises.
Owens in the Reece Monuments, Cornett Racing Engines, Bloomquist Race Cars, Ford expanded his points lead to 35-points over Bloomquist by placing second. Pearson in the Bobby Labonte Racing, Lucas Oil Products, Longhorn Dodge continued his recent resurgence with a third place finish ahead of two Empire State drivers, Decker in the Gypsum Express, Rocket, who earned the PBM Erson Cams Hard Charger of the Race and Coffey in the Sweeteners Plus, Rocket.
Completing the top ten were Bloomquist; Jared Landers of Batesville, AR; Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN; Steve Francis of Ashland, KY; and Dan Stone of Thompson, PA.
Ryan Phelps out raced Paul Kinney and the rest of the 27 car starting field to lead the opening lap of the 50 lap “Thunder On The Thruway” series race for Big Block Modifieds on the slick but multi-grooved Utica-Rome Speedway surface.
Phelps would lead the first 16 laps till a caution came out to bunch the field up. On the restart Bill Trexler Jr. took advantage of the outside as he blasted by Phelps and into the lead.
At the halfway point Trexler still led, but he had to contend with Billy Decker who had moved into 2nd and was putting pressure on the leader. Behind the top-two, Matt Sheppard, Ryan Phelps and Bobby Varin raced for third through fifth.
Decker hounded Trexler for the next few laps finally getting by on lap 30 to be scored the new leader of the race.
Once out front, Decker was the class of the field as he drove away for a 3.479 second win over Trexler at the checkers. Bobby Varin, Stewart Friesen and Pat Ward rounded out the top-five.
Early leader Ryan Phelps, Todd Burley, Chris Busta, Jim Davis and Willy Decker completed the top-ten.
“The car was awesome tonight, that was a lot of fun,” said Decker from victory lane.” He (Trexler) drove a heck of a race, but he got bottled up in traffic that was the difference, so we got away with one tonight.”
Decker related that he couldn’t thank his crew enough as they not only had to get his modified ready but also had to fix his Late Model that he tore up the night before at Fonda Speedways Lucas Oil Dirt Late Model Series race.
This Sunday night July 31st New York Central Mutual & Nice n Easy Grocery Shoppes presents a Regular Show of Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, and Pure Stocks plus One on One Spectator Races. Gates will open at 3:30 with racing at 6:00.
(LUCAS OIL LATE MODEL SERIES COORS LITE 50) - TIM MCCREADIE, Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson Jr., Billy Decker, Vic Coffey, Scott Bloomquist, Jared Landers, Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Daniel Stone, Larry Wight, Ray Cook, Tyler Reddick, Brad Neat, Dale Planck, David Zona, Frank Heckenast Jr., Bub McCool, Dale Caswell, Clint Smith, Tim Fuller, Eric Wells, Jim Bernheisel, John Blankenship.
(THUNDER ON THE THRUWAY MODIFIED SERIES 50 LAPS) - BILLY DECKER, Bill Trexler Jr., Bobby Varin, Stewart Friesen, Pat Ward, Ryan Phelps, Todd Burley, Chris Busta, Jim Davis, Willy Decker, Alan Johnson, Casey Williams, Danny Johnson, Ted Lamb, Matt Sheppard, Mark Kislowski, Alan Barker, Mike Bowman, Jason Rood, Elmo Reckner, Ronnie Johnson, Jim Gabriel Jr., Mark Flach, Matt DeLorenzo, Kenny Tremont Jr., Paul Kinney, Brett Hearn.
Tim McCreadie Thrills The Home Crowd Winning The Lucas Oil Late Models Dirt Series
At Utica-Rome Speedway; Billy Decker Victorious In The Thunder On The Thruway Series For Modifieds
By Dave Medler
VERNON, NY - July 28, 2011 -Tim McCreadie started the night on a down note as he said his “Money Maker” car had issues and he had to pull out the backup car that he said he didn’t like. With that car McCreadie started 8th and slowly worked his way forward taking the lead from Lucas Oil Late Model Series leader Jimmy Owens on a lap 39 restart and never looked back for the popular $10,000 win.
Three out the top-five finishers were New York drivers as Billy Decker and Vic Coffey finished fourth and fifth.
In the 50 lap Thunder On The Thruway Big Block Modified Series race, Billy Decker in his Gypsum Wholesalers, Stadium International Trucks, No.91 Bicknell took the lead from Bill Trexler on lap 30 and then went on to a dominating $5,000 victory Thursday night.