Rt 5 Vernon, NY
Back to 2011 News    Back to 2012 News
Jump to Sept 9th

pleasing battle for the runner up positions with Williams holding off the challenges to hang on to second. With ten laps complete, it was Hulsizer pulling away from Williams, Tremont, Busta, and Taylor.
With Hulsizer easily setting the pace as the leader, eyes turned to mid pack as some drivers were making their way to the front. 15th place starter Ronnie Johnson was the first to make his presence felt as he broke into the top five with 11 laps complete. Johnson slipped be Busta for fourth on lap 13 and was then battling with Tremont and Williams for a top three position. The trio went three wide on several occasions as they wrestled for the second spot with finally getting by Williams as lap 21 was scored to grab the second spot. As the laps clicked off, Tremont made a valiant effort to run down Hulsizer but he came up just short as Hulsizer took his first win since June 23, 2002. Tremont came home in second ahead of Johnson, point leader Stewart Friesen, and Bobby Varin. Busta, Williams, Pat Ward, Ted Lamb, and Jason Rood filled out the top ten positions.
The Sportsman 20 lap feature saw front row starter Joe Harrington lead the way for the initial four laps until Tye Rood took over to lead on lap five. The young Rood would hold on until lap seven when 11th place starter Jeff Leslie made a pass on the outside of Rood going down the backstretch to take the lead as lap eight was being scored. Leslie would go the rest of the way as the leader to grab his third win of the year over Rood, Chris Mackey, Matt Janczuk, and Claude Hutchings, Jr.
In the Pro Stock 20 lap feature, pole sitter Glenn Forward took led the first four circuits with eighth place starter Mark Effner taking over to lead on lap five. Point leader Rocky Warner, from the tenth spot, then took over on the 12th circuit. From that point on, Warner would stay out front to take his fourth win of the season over Tom Denton, Jeff Pastorella, Bret Belden, and Effner.
Scott Wheelock led the opening two laps of the Pure Stock 15 lap main event from his outside front row starting spot with fifth place starter Rob Thieme taking over on lap three. For the remainder of the event, Thieme held off repeated challenges from Frank Hyatt and Ricky Breed to take his first career win. Hyatt, Breed, Ron Hawker, and Dave Pope rounded out the top five.
This Thursday July 28, the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will invade the “Action Track of East”, bringing along some of the best Dirt Late Model drivers in the nation including Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, Don O’Neal, and Earl Pearson, Jr. to name a few as they chase down the $10,000 top prize. Also, the Modifieds will also be in action as they compete for $5,000 to win in a 50 lap affair as part of the Thunder Modified Series. Race time is set for 7 p.m. with gates opening at 4 p.m.

MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH (30 LAPS)-STEVE HULSIZER, Kenny Tremont, Ronnie Johnson, Stewart Friesen, Bobby Varin, Chris Busta, Casey Williams, Pat Ward, Ted Lamb, Jason Rood, Alan Johnson, Todd Burley, Paul Jensen, Pete Taylor, Bill Trexler, Jr., Paul Kinney, Matt Hulsizer, Alan Barker, Mark Kislowski, Brad Godshalk, Brian Murphy, Phil Burkhart, Jr., Tim Mayne, and Willy Decker.
SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)-JEFF LESLIE, Tye Rood, Chris Mackey, Matt Janczuk, Claude Hutchings, Jr., Jim Rothwell, Randy Shantel, Mike Button, Jim Spano, Joe Harrington, Heath Carney, Jack Miller, Stephen Denton, Rich Townsend, Rocco Leone, Darren Keyser, Aaron Jacobs, Craig Pope, Brian Thomas, George Dyer, Jim Nagle, Steve Way, and AJ Filbeck.
PRO STOCK FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)- ROCKY WARNER, Tom Denton, Jeff Pastorella, Bret Belden, Mark Effner, Ed Ostrander, Glenn Forward, Dave Moyer, Dan Lashure, Ivan Joslin, Jim Grippen, Bill Knapp, Jeremy Vunk, Chris Carr, and Jim Normoyle.
PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH (15 LAPS)-ROB THIEME, Frank Hyatt, Ricky Breed, Ron Hawker, Dave Pope, Phil Norman, Bill Mason, Stan Clark, Scott Wheelock, Chris Cunningham, Jim Thomas, Bryan Owens, Jim Richmond, Ernie Staelens, and Keith Stevenson.
VERNON, NY- Steve Hulsizer completed his comeback to the Utica-Rome Speedway this past Sunday, July 23, as he took his first win in nine years at the Vernon oval. Hulsizer’s win came in front of a large crowd on Ferris Industries, Tombstone Saloon, and Country Suburban night. Jeff Leslie came home as the Sportsman victor with Rocky Warner the winner in the Pro Stocks. Rob Thieme grabbed his first ever Pure Stock win in the nightcap feature event.
Steve Hulsizer used his pole starting spot to his advantage as he jumped out to the lead at the drop of the green with Casey Williams, Matt Hulsizer, Brian Murphy, and Kenny Tremont in tow. In the first third of the 30 lap event, Williams, Tremont, Pete Taylor, and Chris Busta put on a crowd