Aaron Jacobs wins the Gnome Cup at Utica-Rome over a stout Go Nuclear Late Model Series field

Vernon, NY – In the feel-good story of the season, Aaron Jacobs put on a dominating display of driving in capturing the 2nd Annual Gnome Cup and his first Go Nuclear Late Model Series victory at Utica-Rome Speedway. With another stout field of 32 Go Nuclear Late Models on hand, the competition was fierce as drivers quickly adapted to the slippery ½ mile oval.

When the Go Nuclear Late Models took Matt Burdick’s green flag, it was pole sitter Lee Gill jumping to the early lead over JJ Courcy. The battle quickly escalated behind the leaders as Kevan Cook, Lazlow Holyfield, John Waters, Aaron Jacobs, and Chris Fleming jockeyed about in close quarters for position. Lap 5 saw Aaron Jacobs thread the needle in a daring move entering the corner to pull from 5th to 2nd and start stalking the leader.

It was lap 7 when Jacobs would overtake Gill for a lead that he would not relinquish. Jacobs smoothly navigated the track and through lapped traffic for the remainder of the race. Only a lap 23 caution would slow Jacobs down, but not for long as he once again pulled away from the field. Behind him, many cars were on the move and taking positions as Bill Eisele would move from 10th to take the runner up spot and Greg Belyea would advance all the way from the 26th starting spot to take the last podium position. Lee Gill, Bryce Davis, John Waters, Jason Knowles (from 22nd), Chris Fleming, Alan Fink, and John Hill would round out the top 10.

Greg Belyea was awarded the Scott Jeffery’s Performance “Hard Charger” Award, Darren Peters and Bret Belden took home the AR Bodies “Hard Luck” Award, and John Hill took home the SUNY Canton “Perseverance” Award.

After a slow start, the 2015 edition of the series has kicked into high gear and has proven to be even more competitive than years past. The season opener at Chapman’s CanAm Motorsports Park saw 38 Go Nuclear Late Models seeking the top prize. World of Outlaw regulars Darrell Lanigan and Chub Frank discovered how competitive the series regulars are, scoring a 3rd and 7th place finish. Defending series champion Charlie Sandercock would take home the checkers in front of a hard charging Lee Gill. Ohsweken Speedway would see a stout field of 27 Go Nuclear late Models compete at the ultra-wide 3/8 mile track despite gloomy weather conditions. Darren Peters would take the checkered flag in a hotly contested event.

Top 20 in points after Utica-Rome (lowest finish dropped per series rules)

1 C. Sandercock 195 2 Lee Gill 181 3 B. Eisele 165 4 G. Belyea 160 5 C. Fleming 158 6 S. Beardsley 158 7 A. Jacobs 150 8 D. Caswell 146 9 Alan Fink 138 10 K. Sopaz 136 11 P. Potts 131 12 Darren Peters 130 13 B. Mowat 124 14 J. Hill 120 15 D. Waters 120 16 AJ Kingsley 118 17 A. Turner 114 18 M. Trapp 110 19 B. Belden 106 20 B. Ford 96

The Go Nuclear Late Model Series would like to thank our fantastic 2015 sponsors, who make the series possible. Deerhaven Victory Motorcycles, Humberstone Nurseries, Gillees Heavy Duty Parts, Grills-N-Ovens, Excel Tower Service, Tenace Music & Cinema, McDonald Homes, Dibbits Excavating, C Smith Automotive Machine, SUNY Canton, AR Bodies, Scott Jeffery’s Performance Parts, Trick Race Parts, Insinger Race Fuels/Sunoco, Beyea Headers, Turn 4 Photos, and Senssse.com.