Rt 5 Vernon, NY
Back to News   Back Home
Get a Home or Auto Online Quote Click Here
Back to 2013 News    Back Home

VERNON, NY- Despite their best efforts, Utica-Rome Speedway officials rushed the show along once they saw weather was threatening but still were unable to complete the show this past Sunday.  The Sportsman were able to complete their 20 lap feature while the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints were able complete just 15 laps of the scheduled 25 lap A Main.  Matt Janczuk was Sportsman victor while Matt Tanner was declared the winner of the Sprint winner.

Robert Barker led the opening lap of the Sportsman main event from outside starting front row with Mike Stiles, pole sitter Bobby Heintz, Claude Hutchings Jr., Chris Mackey in tow.  Hutchings was on the move early as he was seventh at the start of the race and was up to second on lap two with Stiles now the leader.  Hutchings took the lead after a lap five restart while 13th place starter Matt Janczuk was now up to the runner-up spot.  A lap nine caution bunched the field the together and on the restart, Janczuk took advantage and wrestled the lead away to the field at the halfway point.  Point leader Jeremy Vunk slid into second on lap 13 but could not catch Janczuk as he ran off to his second consecutive win.  Vunk, Hutchings, Jack Miller, and Chris Hulsizer rounded out the top five.

The Pro Stock and Pure Stock features will be completed on Sunday July 14 while the Modifieds will be run on Sunday July 21.

After a two day hiatus, Utica-Rome Speedway will be right back in action on Wednesday, July 10, when the Mirabito Fuel Group and Community Car Wash-Route 5 Sherrill NY presents a regular show of Modifieds, Sportsman, Pro Stocks, and Pure Stocks.  Gates will open at 4:30 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m.  More information can be found at www.uticaromespeedway.com or by calling (315)829-4557.


SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (20 LAPS)-MATT JANCZUK, Jeremy Vunk, Claude Hutchings Jr., Jack Miller, Chris Hulsizer, Chris Mackey, Tye-Scott Rood, AJ Filbeck, Randy Shantel, Heath Carney, Mike Stiles, Bobby Heintz, Steve Way, Daryl Nutting, Tony Ballestero, Chad Ray, Darren Keyser, Robert Barker, Daryl Barrett, Chris McCoy, Brandon Kuhn, and Craig Pope.

LUCAS OIL EMPIRE SUPER SPRINT FEATURE (RAIN SHORTENED TO 15 LAPS)-MATT TANNER, Stewart Friesen, Michael Parent, Chuck Hebing, Bryan Howland, Jessica Zemken, Charlie Donk, Cory Sparks, Danny Varin, Larry Wight, Paul Kinney, Shawn Donath, Jason Barney, Etienne Girard, James Hanson, Lance Yonge, Tommy Wickham, Kevin Ward Jr. Patrick Vigneault, Warren Alexson, Dylan Swiernik, Jeff Cook, Steve Poirier, Justin Barger, and Paul Habeck.